The technology that changed our lives…

Following a recent article in Campaign which spoke about technology that shaped the lives of some of the adland greats, we thought it’d be interesting to pose the same question to ourselves.

So we asked: What tech has changed your life?

Have a gander at some of our thoughts below. Which of the suggestions do you agree with? Is there anything missing? Is there anything specific to your work life versus your personal?

As always, drop a comment in the box below and let us know what’s changed your life.

  • Mobile (or broader still, internet) banking. It has revolutionised an otherwise laborious activity. You can send money, check balances, pay bills, transfer money, set up standing orders and manage your savings all at the touch of a button. Mundane tasks that can be achieved at any hour of the day.
  • Just Giving / text donations. It’s made it a lot easier for me to be generous and give to charities that I care about. Before, I’m embarrassed to say, the fairly cumbersome process of donating (having to sign up or call a hotline) meant I didn’t donate as often.
  • Paypal. Being a frantic internet shopper, preferring to buy my goods online rather than battle busy highstreet stores, means that prior to PayPal I had to input my card details every single time I bought something or store my details online which never felt particularly safe. PayPal removes the risk and enables a hassle-free shopping experience.
  • Paypal. Easy, secure payments, saving me from entering credit card details into every site I buy from. It just makes life easier. As many of the products I purchase are becoming rarer to find in ‘real-world’ outlets (e.g., music, books), have a greater choice online (wedding gifts), or are solely found (event tickets), the amount of time Paypal has saved me is near incalculable… As is the assurance and feeling of security from not sharing credit card details with numerous faceless purveyors of tat.
  • Google. For my work, it’s important for me to get the best deals on products and the best products to fit our budgets; it also gives me the opportunity to be bespoke.  Using forums and rating systems when purchasing online gives me confidence that I am buying the right product from a trusted provider.  The internet gives you instant feedback from real consumers.  ‘Googling’ also helps me find the best price and options after identifying what I need.
  • Google. In my home, at work and in regards to my social life I use google countless times each day. It eclipses anything else I could mention as a resource or tool. If we are talking as Google in the wider sense I could even extend that to Google maps as this is also now an invaluable tool.
  • Google image search, Online thesauruses (thesauri). Both incredibly useful for the kind of free association creative process I often employ. One idea leads to another, that idea grows, and hey presto! we have a concept (hopefully). I still use reference books, archive catalogues and real-life ‘things’, but life would be massively different without these two tools.
  • Smartphone. Having pretty much all forms of communication available to me in one place.  Text, e-mail, calendar coordination, text and even ‘face to face’ discussions using Skype or FaceTime.  It’s all taken very much for granted now, but the reality is that 99% of people who use these things have no idea how they work, have never been formally trained on how to use them and are nearly professionally crippled should even the smallest thing go wrong.  I think that the impact of such technology quickly turns from one of “this is great and makes my life so much easier and it’s nice to have” to “I now rely on it and without it I can’t function optimally”.  So in some ways, the definition of success is that the technology completely supplants the one that came before it, so that there’s no turning back.  Rotary phone anyone?
  • Smartphone. Seems like cheating, but the fact that it does pretty much everything for you has a huge impact on so many aspects of life, from how you carry out day to day tasks and how you communicate with people as well.
  • Spotify. It has completely shifted the way I consume music. Saves me money as I no longer purchase anything on top of the small monthly fee, and, I would imagine (as I would NEVER engage in such behaviour), removes the guilt and hassle of illegal downloads.
  • NutriBullet. Liquid breakfast yum!
  • Grindr. It has revolutionised an otherwise laborious activity. You can identify, locate, meet and interact with people, with a wide range of emotional and physical responses, all at the touch of a button. Mundane tasks that can be achieved anywhere in the world, at any hour of the day.

 

1 reply »

Have your say here...

