Stand out from the crowd

So, I’m a redhead. Although, throughout my nearly 30 years of life, I’ve also been called names such as Ginge, Carrot top and Duracell battery to name a few, and according to the urban dictionary I have no soul:

“A human, characterized by pale skin, freckles and bright red hair. Gingers are thought to have no souls.” Urban Dictionary.

It still amazes me that the colour of my hair can attract such mixed views. Old grannies were forever cooing over me as a child telling me how lucky I was. School was a different story though. I hated my hair growing up, really hated it, kids can be pretty mean! Total strangers can too though. I remember being about 12 years old walking down a busy road on the way to a friend’s house. A ‘white van man’ slowed down beside me, holding up the traffic behind him, just so he could shout “GINGER” out the window at me.

Anyway, I don’t want you to feel sorry for me, that’s not the point of this entry. My point is that so many people claim that being different is good, “it would be boring if we all looked the same” yet still attack people for being different. If we were to truly embrace this thinking, things would be a lot different, I feel. It’s human nature to want to blend into the background sometimes, but to be true to yourself and realise your true potential, you need to stand out from the crowd once in a while.

So, the question is: Are you brave enough to be different? – Click here to tweet this

Sophie

Have your say here...